Utah Farm Bureau Members Elect Farm and Ranch leaders at Annual Convention in Layton

Utah Farm Bureau Members Elect Farm and Ranch leaders at Annual Convention in Layton

The Utah Farm Bureau Federation convened its 102nd annual convention, November 15-16, at the Davis Conference Center in Layton, Utah. The convention focused on how farmers and ranchers could find success during difficult economic times and shifting political influences. 

The convention voting delegates also addressed a wide range of policy issues, including taxes, rural transportation & funding, equine dentistry, water infrastructure, wildlife management, predator control, and more. 

“We’re happy how things went this year at our convention. We had a great lineup of speakers and issues. It was truly democracy at the grassroots level, with those feeling the impact of state and federal regulations the most having a say in how the rules and laws are created,” said Ron Gibson, Utah Farm Bureau President. “We weren’t just sitting around complaining about our situation. Farm Bureau looked to its heritage of making policy to guide our organization with a vision for the future.”

Additionally, leaders met to select leaders for the state’s largest farming and ranching organization. Delegates re-elected Spanish Fork cattle rancher Rex Larsen to a two-year term as Vice President of the Utah Farm Bureau Federation. 

“It’s an honor to be elected to this post and a great opportunity to continue supporting our president, board of directors, and members of this organization,” Larsen said. “Farm Bureau is strong in advocating the interests of agriculture everywhere because it is a true grassroots organization. We advocate not simply what a board wants, but what farmers and ranchers around the state decide for themselves.” 

Rob Smith, a cattle rancher and attorney from Trenton (Cache County), Tyson Roberts, a produce farmer from Layton (Davis County), and Steve Hanberg, a grain farmer from Randlett (Uintah County) were elected to the State Board of Directors. 

Craig Laub, a hay farmer from Beryl (Iron County) was re-elected to two-year term on the Utah Farm Bureau Board of Directors. 

JaNae Titmus of Grantsville was re-elected as of Vice-Chair for the Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee. Titmus and her family are sheep ranchers in Tooele County. 

Others re-elected to the Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee were Kitty Young of Henefer (Summit County), Sara Harward of Springville (Utah County), and Nancy Harris of Richfield (Sevier County). 

Four new couples were elected to serve on the State Young Farmer & Rancher committee, including Travis & Geneve Moore of Coalville (Summit County); Addison & Jenn Hicken of Heber City (Wasatch County); Kurt & Crystal Hansen of Richfield (Sevier County); and D.J. & Whitney Laub from Paragonah (Iron County). 

Andrea & Duane Schoenfeld of Tridell (Uintah County) were chosen as chairs for the State Agriculture Promotions Committee, with Andrea also serving as the Committee Representative on the State Board of Directors. Also elected to the Ag Promotions Committee include the following: Daryn Westergard of Ogden (Weber County), Paige Norton of South Jordan (Salt Lake County), Brad & Jenny Osguthorpe of Heber City (Wasatch County), Bjorn & Shanna Carlson of Bluebell (Duchesne County), and Marc & Hollie Henrie of Panguitch (Garfield County).