Ron Gibson of Weber County was re-elected president of Utah Farm Bureau Federation (UFBF) during the opening of the organization’s state convention. Taking office immediately following the convention, Gibson is the 17th president in the history of Utah Farm Bureau, which is Utah’s largest general farm organization.

Gibson is a 5th generation farmer in West Weber, Utah. The family runs the Gibson’s Green Acres dairy farm as well as having acres devoted to onions and other produce. 

“I am very excited to continue my service to Farm Bureau members, and to highlight the contributions agriculture makes to our society today,” Gibson said. “More than ever, farmers and ranchers need to reach out and build relationships in our communities to help our non-farming neighbors understand the needs and pressures on agriculture.”

Utah Farm Bureau’s President and members of the Board of Directors and statewide committees serve two year terms and are elected from among the delegate body at the Utah Farm Bureau Federation’s annual convention, which took place last week.

Cattle ranchers Jim Wayment (Weber County) and Wayne Jarrett (Juab County), and sheep rancher Wade Eliason (Sanpete County) were re-elected to the State Board of Directors.

Riggin Holmgren, a farmer from Box Elder County, was elected to a two-year term on the Utah Farm Bureau Board of Directors as the new chair of the Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee. Riggin and his wife Laura had previously been serving as vice-chairs of the committee. Replacing them as incoming vice-chairs are Mason and Erika Anderson of Millard County.

Dot Jensen of Box Elder County was re-elected as Chair for the Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee. 

Others re-elected to the Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee were Stacey Wangsgard (Cache County), Delaney Nalder (Davis County), and Tiffany McConkie (Duchesne County). Jennifer Marshall was elected to the State Women’s Committee to represent District 7, the southwestern portion of the state. Marshall’s family have a cattle ranch in Beaver County.

Two new couples were elected to serve on the State Young Farmer & Rancher committee, including Mike & Heather Taylor of Moab (Grand County) and Dave & Jessica Cox of Cedar City (Iron County). Brady & Amanda Spackman (Cache County), Wyatt Harding (Tooele County) were also re-elected to the State Young Farmer & Rancher Committee. 

Re-elected to the Promotions & Education (P&E) committee were Daniel & Amy Buttars (Cache County), Paige Norton (Salt Lake County), and Kyle Wilson (Washington County). Newly elected to the state P&E Committee was Lacey Branson of Uintah County.

Voting delegates also addressed a wide range of policy issues including positions on water development and distribution, branding rules, population growth, agritourism, trespass laws, and more in its delegate policy session.