The American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture has awarded $10,000 in grants to recognize the exceptional efforts of 10 county Farm Bureaus and their agricultural literacy programs. Additionally, the Foundation has awarded $15,000 in scholarships to 10 educators who exemplify excellence in engaging students to learn where their food comes from.

The grants and scholarships are funded through the White-Reinhardt Fund for Education, which acknowledges communities and educators who are engaging with students on the fundamental role of agriculture in the everyday lives of all Americans.

“Teaching the next generation of learners where their food comes from is a tremendous responsibility, and these programs and educators do an outstanding job with such an important task,” said Daniel Meloy, executive director of the Foundation. “I’m honored that the Foundation can acknowledge their impressive commitment to ensuring children across the country know the impact agriculture has on each of us.”

Grants are awarded twice a year, in the spring and fall. State and county Farm Bureaus may apply for $1,000 grants in support of education programs for grades K-12 in order to create new ag literacy programs or expand existing programs. Organizations and schools can work with their local Farm Bureau to apply for the grants, which are available on a competitive basis. The Spring 2023 grants were awarded to County Farm Bureaus in George, Illinois, Louisiana, Michigan, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Additionally, the Foundation has awarded scholarships valued at $1,500 each to 10 educators to help offset the cost of attending the National Ag in the Classroom Conference. The Foundation will also cover the registration cost of attending the conference for the educators selected.

The White-Reinhardt Fund is a project of the Foundation that sponsors scholarships and grants in cooperation with the American Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee. The fund is named in honor of Berta White and Linda Reinhardt, two former committee chairwomen. For more information on the grants and how to apply, click HERE.