SANDY, Utah –December 5, 2016 – Members from Utah’s 28 County Farm Bureaus met recently in Layton to select leaders for the state’s largest farming and ranching organization. Delegates elected Spanish Fork cattle rancher Rex Larsen to a two-year term as Vice President of the Utah Farm Bureau Federation.

“It’s an honor to be elected to this post and a great opportunity to continue supporting our president, board of directors, and members of this organization,” Larsen said. “Farm Bureau is strong in advocating the interests of agriculture everywhere because it is a true grassroots organization. We advocate not simply what a board wants, but what farmers and ranchers around the state decide for themselves.”

Wayne Jarrett, a farmer from Nephi was elected to the State Board of Directors, filling the remaining year of Rex Larsen’s vacated Board seat, representing Juab, Utah and Wasatch counties. Flint Richards, a farmer from Erda was also elected to the State Board of Directors representing Davis, Salt Lake and Tooele counties. Richards also works on behalf of the Jersey dairy cattle industry.

John Ferry, a cattle rancher from Corinne, Joël Hatch, a rancher from Castle Dale, and Craig Laub, a hay farmer from Beryl were also re-elected to two-year terms on the Utah Farm Bureau Board of Directors.

JaNae Titmus of Grantsville was elected to the newly created position of Vice-Chair for the Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee. Titmus and her family are sheep ranchers in Tooele County, and she had been serving on the Women’s Leadership Committee. Filling her remaining year on the committee will be Selma Lehmitz from West Jordan.

Others elected to the Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee were Kitty Young of Henefer, Sara Harward of Springville, and Nancy Harris of Richfield.

Three new couples were elected to serve on the State Young Farmer & Rancher committee, including Dave & Kalei Robbins of Santaquin; Jed & Nanci Johnson of Aurora, and Kyle & Shelley Wilson from Enterprise. Kenny and Jamilla McFarland of West Weber were re-elected to another term on the committee.

There were also elections for seven districts and chairs for the newly created Agriculture Promotions Committee. In place for a year as an ad-hoc committee, it became permanent this year and required the election of officers. Jamison & Stacy McPherson of Nephi were chosen as chairs for the committee, along with the following: Matt & Lena Leak of Cornish, Daryn Westergard of Ogden, Joel & Becca Ferry of Corinne, Brad & Jenny Osguthorpe of Heber City, Duane & Andrea Schoenfeld of Tridell, Marc & Hollie Henrie of Richfield, and Maria Nye of Delta.

Voting delegates also addressed a wide range of policy issues including positions on taxes, environmental regulations, water development, water quality, wildlife, and more.