Members from Utah’s 28 County Farm Bureaus met socially-distanced in Provo and virtually throughout the state to select leaders for the state’s largest farming and ranching organization. Delegates re-elected Spanish Fork cattle rancher Rex Larsen to a two-year term as Vice President of the Utah Farm Bureau Federation. 

“It’s an honor to be elected to this post and a great opportunity to continue supporting our president, board of directors, and members of this organization,” Larsen said. “Farm Bureau is strong in advocating the interests of agriculture everywhere because it is a true grassroots organization. This certainly has been a year unlike any other, but farmers and ranchers continue to produce the food we all need, and increasingly looking for ways to get this food to those in need.” 

Rob Smith, a cattle rancher and attorney from Trenton (Cache County), Tyson Roberts, a produce farmer from Layton (Davis County), and Steve Hanberg, a grain farmer from Randlett (Uintah County) were re-elected to the State Board of Directors. 

Jared Buhler, a farmer from Lynndyl (Millard County) was elected to a two-year term on the Utah Farm Bureau Board of Directors for District 7, replacing Craig Laub who served for several years. Buhler is also the branch manager of the IFA store in Delta. 

JaNae Titmus of Grantsville was re-elected as Vice-Chair for the Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee. Titmus and her family are sheep ranchers in Tooele County. 

Others re-elected to the Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee were Kitty Young of Henefer (Summit County), Sara Harward of Springville (Utah County), and Nancy Harris of Richfield (Sevier County). 

Three new couples were elected to serve on the State Young Farmer & Rancher committee, including Brady & Amanda Spackman of Lewiston (Cache County); Clayton & Dakota Rindlisbacher of Nephi (Juab County); and Geordin & Kami Gass of Circleville (Piute County) Travis & Geneve Moore of Coalville (Summit County) were also re-elected to the State Young Farmer & Rancher Committee. 

Andrea Schoenfeld of Tridell (Uintah County) was re-elected as chair for the State Promotion & Education Committee (P&E), with Andrea also serving as the Committee Representative on the State Board of Directors. Also re-elected to the P&E committee were Jarvis & Lauren Pace of Ogden (Weber County). Newly elected to the state P&E Committee were Brett & Lindsay Holmes of Heber City (Wasatch County) and Kurt & Crystal Hansen of Richfield (Sevier County). 

Voting delegates also addressed a wide range of policy issues including positions on CAFO zoning of animal agriculture, water transfer, predator control, public land grazing permits, and more.