The Utah Farm Bureau Federation convened its 103rd annual convention, November 20-22, at the Davis Conference Center in Layton, Utah. The convention focused on how address how farmers and ranchers can find success by connecting with each other, with non-farming audiences, and with decision makers at the local, state, and national levels.

The convention voting delegates also addressed a wide range of policy issues, including public lands issues such as grazing policies, the current sales tax restructuring debatetradewater development and distributionindustrial hemp, agritourism, and more.

“We’re happy how things went this year at our convention. We had a great lineup of speakers and issues. It was truly democracy at the grassroots level, with those feeling the impact of state and federal regulations the most having a say in how the rules and laws are created,” said Ron Gibson, Utah Farm Bureau President. “We weren’t just sitting around complaining about our situation. Farm Bureau looked to its heritage of making policy to guide our organization with a vision for the future.”

Additionally, leaders met to select leaders for the state’s largest farming and ranching organization. Delegates re-elected Ogden dairy farmer Ron Gibson to a two-year term as President of the Utah Farm Bureau Federation.

“It’s an honor to be elected to this post and a great opportunity to continue supporting our president, board of directors, and members of this organization,” Larsen said. “Farm Bureau is strong in advocating the interests of agriculture everywhere because it is a true grassroots organization. We advocate not simply what a board wants, but what farmers and ranchers around the state decide for themselves.

Jim Wayment, a cattle rancher from Ogden, Wayne Jarrett, a hay farmer and cattle rancher from Nephi, and Wade Eliason, a sheep rancher from Moroni were re-elected to two-year terms on the Utah Farm Bureau Board of Directors.

JaNae Titmus of Grantsville was re-elected as of Vice-Chair for the Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee. Titmus and her family are sheep ranchers in Tooele County.

Others re-elected to the Farm Bureau Women’s Leadership Committee were Stacey Wangsgard (Box Elder County), Tiffany McConkie (Duchesne County), and Linda Noyes (Beaver County). Delaney Nalder (Davis County) was newly elected to the State Women’s Committee representing District 3 (Davis, Salt Lake and Tooele Counties). 

Three new couples were elected to serve on the State Young Farmer & Rancher committee, including Wyatt & Torie Harding (Tooele County); Dustin & Emily Lemon (Duchesne County); and Mason & Erica Anderson (Millard County County). Riggin & Laura Holmgren of Box Elder County were reelected to the Young Farmer & Rancher Committee.

Elected to the State Promotions & Education Committee include the following: Dan & Amy Buttars (Cache County), Jeff & Jennie Christensen (Carbon County), and Kyle & Shelley Wilson (Washington County).

About the Utah Farm Bureau

The Utah Farm Bureau is the largest general farm and ranch organization in the state with more than 34,000 member families. Its mission is to inspire all Utah families to connect, succeed and grow through the miracle of agriculture. It strives to bring value to every citizen and community through love of God, family, country, and the land. The Farm Bureau is based on grassroots policies developed by members at the local, county, state and national levels. It is affiliated with the American Farm Bureau Federation, the world’s largest general farm organization, with approximately six million family members in 50 states and Puerto Rico. For more information, go to the Utah Farm Bureau Web site at, ‘Utah Farm Bureau’ on Facebook, @UtahFarmBureau on Twitter, Utah Farm Bureau on Instagram, or on YouTube at